125 Years Old

Founded 1897

Whilst there was talk of forming a new Lancashire Chess Association in 1877, it would appear dispite many attempts in the intervening years, the accepted date for the founding of the association is November 7th 1897 at a meeting of Lancashire Clubs. At the meeting the first Officers of the association were elected.

1897-98 Elected Officials
President Amos Burn
Vice President CYC Dawbrun and J Whittaker
Treasurer Dr A Wahltuch
Secretary JJ Seanor

2022-23 will see Lancashire Chess Association celebrating 125 years. During the course of the next few months, we will bring you articles from the past, as well as looking to the future. Join us as we celebrate chess in Lancashire.

Timeline Snippets

Lancashire Chess Association formed at a meeting on the 7th November 1897, held at the Manchester Chess Club. The first president elected was Amos Burn from Liverpool Chess Club.
The first Northern Counties Chess Championship took place, and the final was between the usual suspects, Lancashire v Yorkshire. Lancashire ran out winners by the score of 16.5 - 8.5
The first British Chess Federation County Championship took place. The finalists, those two usual suspects, Lancashire v Yorkshire. Whilst, Lancashire had a good record against Yorkshire, this turned out to be a win for Yorkshire. Who ran out eventual winners by the score of 16-14.
Despite many years of dominance in their matches against Yorkshire, and despite a close match in 1908 and four previous appearances in the final, it took until 1922 for Lancashire to win its first National County Championship. Beating Surrey 9-7.